Hospital Staff Absences for Mental Health Reasons Double – but do the Figures Add Up?

Today I was up early to watch Danny Mortimer NHSE_Danny (Chief Executive Employers) Speak on BBC Breakfast in light of new figures obtained via a Freedom of Information Act Request, that Hospital staff absences for mental health reasons has doubled across England in the last 4 years!

This information is obviously very relevant to my PhD study, and I will be reviewing it in time. However, the initial response that Danny Mortimer gave was that  staff feel comfortable talking about their . Hmm…

Has all of my research to date been wrong? Are #NHS staff comfortable talking freely about their mental ill health? (would love to hear your thoughts, but ironically you may feel unable to speak out – I tell myself this is the reason for a lack of comments on, and interactions with my blog all of the time :P)

Anyway, as you can imagine, I became worried that I was ‘missing something’ and asked Danny if he had any evidence for this? – See our conversation here

As you can see, he did not provide me with evidence for this statement, but agreed that we all need to do more to support our colleagues, and I know that we all share the same constructive goals. Unfortunately people don’t always have an answer, they just know that something needs to be done. I still believe that my PhD research could be the key to effective support, but this project is in its infancy and I will keep the readers of this blog as updated upon its progress as I am able.

So… the evidence provided by NHS Employers upon the mental health & well being of NHS staff is this:

MentalHealth Infographic WEB FINAL

A great infographic! However, one thing concerns me…. Apparently 76% of NHS trusts report that they monitor the well being of their staff (RCP, London). Yet 3 out of 4 people suffering from mental illness get NO TREATMENT AT ALL. (www.mentalhealth.org). So, are NHS trusts doing anything about the staff they find to be unwell? or are NHS staff fine? I think not. I worry that there is a lot of good rhetoric out there around NHS staff health and wellbeing, but not many interventions to support staff. The figures don’t add up, and seemingly only smarties have the answer.

I hope I have the answer coming… I hope its not too late.

http://www.mentalhealth.org.uk/content/assets/PDF/publications/fundamental_facts_2007.pdf?view=Standard

http://www.rcplondon.ac.uk/resources/nice-public-health-guidance-workplace-organisational-audit’

Please share your thoughts and comment here:

